Should the High Street be closed to traffic?

The place for serious discussion, announcements and breaking news about Sydenham
MrsSJME

Should the High Street be closed to traffic?

Post by MrsSJME »

Hi everybody.
I'm a teacher at a local primary school and my year 5 class are currently looking at whether it would be a good idea to close Sydenham Road to traffic. We have conducted a traffic survey and are now looking to gather the views of local residents.
I have created a very simple survey which can be found here:
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=9 ... pP4w_3d_3d
I would really appreciate it if anyone has a couple of minutes spare to complete this survey, adding any additional comments as appropriate. We will then use this information to have a debate in class next week.
Thank you for your time.
bensonby

Post by bensonby »

no.

Even as someone who is instinctively hostile to car travel I think it's an absurd suggestion.

It's a major thoroughfare.

Additionally, how would the emergency services and public transport gain access to much of Sydenham and the surrounding area?
simon

Post by simon »

Absolutely no chance!
Crazy idea
Just take a minute to work out how someone would get from, say, the Prince Alfred to St Barts. A motorist would have go either through Penge or Forest Hill. Massive increase in distance and subsequent pollution, not to mention the massive increase in traffic on some otherwise quiet resedential roads.
nasaroc

Post by nasaroc »

Goodness gracious guys! This is a discussion/project for a local junior school, not a chance for us to sound off on our soapboxes!

Fill in the survey and let the kids make up their own minds!

It's called education.
simon

Post by simon »

Dont worry nasaroc, I did the survey and copied my comments here. Who knows, one of them may grow up to be a town planner.
MrsSJME

Post by MrsSJME »

Thank you nasaroc.....