47 Wells Road - Family Research

The History of Sydenham from Cippenham to present day. Links to photos especially welcome!
nickyjane

47 Wells Road - Family Research

Post by nickyjane »

Hi,

I am really stumped with some family research about Dorothy May Hall, born 1898/9. Her marriage certificate (married at Emanuel Church, Norwood) lists her father as Edward Hall (Horse Breeder) but no geneologist I have contacted can find any birth with those details.

I have however found a birth of a Dorothy May Hall in 1899 to a Joseph and Frances Isabel Hall with the address listed as 47 Wells Road, Sydenham. I have been trying to find out more about this family to see if they are linked.

Having had a look around (I'm a real novice!) I can find no details of that property, can anyone help me please!

Many thanks!
Michael Viner

Re: 47 Wells Road - Family Research

Post by Michael Viner »

Dear nickyjane,47 Wells Rd.was one of a row of small two-up,two down cottages which were built c.1830 and were demolished in 1929(thus probably having been on 99 year leases)The site is now mainly the turning of a 1930's- built side road 'Mylis Close'
There is a fine photo of them(inc.No.47) in the book ' Sydenham and Forest Hill The Archive Photographs Series' by my friends John Coulter&John Seaman, first published in 1994 and still available and/or easy to find.The caption under the photo states it was taken 'around 1936' however, I have a rare photo of the cottages during demolition with '12-29' clearly on the back,unless it's some sort of serial number.I'll try and download this photo over the next few days.Hope this is of some use.Kind Regards,Michael
NB I should have added that Wells Rd. is now known as Wells Park Rd. and has been for quite a few decades now!
nickyjane

Post by nickyjane »